About Me2020-06-06T14:46:50+00:00

About Me

My name is Holly Grosvenor and I was taught at a very young age to save. I remember the day my Dad showed me my savings account statement at age 4. He explained to me that I earn interest from the bank when I put money in this savings account. It was a basic lesson on compound interest. I was impressed.  

“The bank pays me?!”  What an amazing idea!

My parents also taught me to spend my money wisely. If there was something I really wanted I should keep an eye out for good prices and save up for that item or experience.  

The Unexpectant Happens

At the age of 20, I lost my father to a heart attack. My mother and I supported each other by learning as we navigated our way through the family finances. Since my father had handled the finances, it wasn’t clear how to even do simple tasks like pay bills. I learned a lot in a short period of time.

I learned about:

  • Insurance companies – Explanation of Benefits (EOBs)
  • Credit card companies – bills and interest rates
  • Student Loans – including applications, interest rates and borrow’s death benefit 
  • Hospital billing – making sure it is accurate
  • Wills – making sure everything is in place

Personal finance is a family affair. 

“Don’t get me wrong I have made mistakes. That is the way you learn! You learn from your mistakes.” – Holly Grosvenor

Don’t get me wrong I made mistakes, just like most people my age. Through trial and error I learned that credit cards needed to be handled carefully. Having lots of debt drags you down. I made it my goal in life to ensure that both individuals in each couple I help should be involved in the household finances and work together to create shared goals. I would talk about this with friends and co-workers over the years so coaching was a natural joy for me.


Happily Married

My husband and I have been happily married since 2002 and have three children. At age 22 and 23, we bought our first house and got married. Back in 2004, we had under $30,000 of school loans, car loans and credit card debt that we managed to pay off by 2008, all the while saving a high percentage in retirement accounts. We have been debt-free except mortgage since 2008 and continue to have a high savings rate. We live in a high cost of living area (the cost of housing is very high compared to other parts of the country) so our expenses are high but we have figured out frugal ways to live in this area. 

Three Kids later, including Twins

“Instead of taking one day at a time. Take one hour at a time. You will have good hours and bad hours. Think positive. If you always look at the bad hours you will always have bad days.” – Holly Grosvenor

In 2011, we decided that I would become a stay-at-home Mom to our three children.  

Talk about a lifestyle change!

Both my husband and I wanted to be stay-at-home parents, and after talking it over we both agreed that I would stay-at-home and I’m so glad I did. It was scary going from two incomes to one income.  

Going from a full-time office-based career to a stay at home Mom career was a challenge for me. One I am so proud I took on.  

We looked closely at our spending and were able to reduce it dramatically. We still had emergencies, just like everyone does during thick of it. We managed. We were still able to max out my husband’s retirement accounts. I’m so glad we did!  

I volunteered for several local non-profit Mom groups from 2011 to 2018. From 2016-2018, I was treasurer of a local MoMs club managing their budget and expenses.  

Working towards Financial Independence

Since 2018, I have been a Financial Coach helping people like you. I believe working hard, saving, and being frugal are the keys to reaching Financial Independence. My definition of Financial Independence is having enough income from your assets to cover your essential expenses so that you can survive without ever having to work again. I believe that anyone can achieve this goal. Financial Independence gives you the freedom to do what you want to do.

Hobbies and Love for Life

Outside my passion for personal finances and organizing paperwork, I have quite a few hobbies including creating crafts such as calligraphy artwork, quilting, reading, volunteering for my kids’ activities and watching movies.  


I graduated from George Mason University in 2001 with a degree in Public Administration and minor in Management. 

Work Experience:

2018 – Present  Owner and Financial Coach at Microstuff

2016-2018 Volunteered as Treasurer for Moms of Multiples Club

2013-2016 Volunteered as New and Expectant Mom’s Co-chair for Moms of Multiples Club

2013 – Present, I have been sewing and creating beautiful custom embroidery gifts

2011 – Present –  Stay at Home Mom to our three kids

From 2004-2011, I worked for several government contractors in the IT field.  I handled the budget of multi-million dollar projects.

Featured on: 

Podcasts Featured On:

Contact Me
Sign Up for my Newsletter
Connect with me to Schedule a 15 minute FREE Consult

My Blog

Covering topics from Money, Saving, Spending, Parenting, Family, How To, and so much more.

Go to Top